Skip to content
An Atlas to "The Night
& Other Electric Flowers"
Performance Schedule
This project will stream right here on the site. Join us for the premiere. This project is available on-demand following the performance.
May 11, 2021 9:00 pm PDT
Available on-demand following the premiere.

Texts written by Marigloria Pama, Natalia Lassalle-Morillo
and the ensemble
Translations by Natalia Lassalle-Morillo and Carina del Valle Schorske*
*(for “Friend, This is What Hurts, a Mega Poem” and “From The Night [Selections]”)

Marigloria Palma is a Puerto Rican poet, playwright, and interdisciplinary artist who spent 20 years of her life in Los Angeles, observing Puerto Rico’s colonial struggle from a distance, and embodying the experience of displacement and in-betweenness that comes with simultaneously inhabiting two politically and culturally opposed homes. Through an intuitive filmmaking process carried out with CalArts artists in Los Angeles and by Lassalle-Morillo in Puerto Rico, this work-in-progress multimedia film project explores Marigloria’s writings as a poetic act of resistance, crafting a cinematic and performative atlas that meditates on the colonial relationship between Puerto Rico & the United States, and investigates how a territory’s ecology, collective memory, and cosmology affect the consciousness of those who inhabit it.

Director’s notes


Creative Team

Natalia Lassalle-Morillo, Director

Antonia Cruz-Kent, Performer/Cinematographer
Gabriel Girón Vives, Performer/Cinematographer
Angela Rosado, Performer/Cinematographer
Daniella Silva, Performer/Cinematographer

Myokyung Shon, Scenic Designer
Violet Smith, Lighting Designer
Dario Morales-Collazo, Sound Designer/Editor
Nicole Theep, Stage Manager
Yue Wang, Producer
Jordie Marie Rippon, Festival Production Stage Manager
Cian Pickron, Festival Associate Production Supervisor
Chris Swetcky, Production Manager

Puerto Rico performers:
Kairiana Nuñez Santaliz
Taisha Howard Arroyo
Vivianna Mestres Méndez
Gloria Morillo Cabán

Puerto Rico Production Crew:
Sofía Gallisá Muriente
Elisa Peebles
Yara Travieso

Very Special Thanks to: Carina del Valle Schorske, Gónzalo Fernández Coffey, Amandla Colón, Sylvia Solá, Dr. Miguel Náter y el Seminario Federico de Onís de la Universidad de Puerto Rico, Recinto de Río Piedras; el Archivo General de Puerto Rico; Vivianna Mestres, Taisha Howard, Kairiana Nuñez Santaliz, Gloria Morillo, Sofía Gallisá Muriente, Elisa Peebles, Yara Travieso, Javi Colón, Norysell Massanet, Paulo Rodríguez & Anayra Santory Jorge.