CalArts School of Theater offers students an educational experience that is experimental, interdisciplinary, international, and diverse. Each unique Program gives students the flexibility, skills, and critical thinking tools to navigate a rapidly changing field and to pursue their professional goals with maximum agency.

Our educational mission is to forge a community of citizen artists who are rigorously trained in their respective métiers and who are able to work effectively and innovatively across a broad spectrum of artistic settings, media, and technologies.

CalArts School of Theater Faculty and Staff
Travis Preston, Dean; Head of Directing; CNP Artistic Director
Christopher Akerlind, Lighting Design
Cristian Amigo, Sound Design
Mecca Andrews, Movement
Christopher Barreca, Head of Scene Design
Camille Benda, Head of Costume Design
Jose Luis Blondet, Theater History
Marissa Chibas, Acting; CNP Director of Duende CalArts
Julanne Chidi Hill, Speech
Monty Cole, Theater History
Michael Darling, Head of Technical Direction
Bart DeLorenzo, Showcase
Kate DeWall, Master Electrician
Heather Ehlers, Movement
Peter Flaherty, Head of Interactive Media for Performance
Don Franzen, Producing
Estela Garcia, Movement
Westley Garcia-Encines, Director of Operations
Janie Geiser, Directing; Object Performance
Mary Louise Gemmill, Voice-Over
Jon Gottlieb, Sound Design
Asher Hartman, Theater History
Mona Heinze, Dramaturgy
Richard Holzberg, Experience Design
Nikki Hyde, Stage Management
Mara Isaacs, Producing
Daniel Jackson, Experience Design and Production
Lars Jan, Acting
Mirjana Jokovic, Director of Performance; Head of MFA Acting
Daniel Alexander Jones, Theater History
Ron Cephas Jones, Acting
Donovan Keith, Experience Design and Production
Lewis Klahr, Directing; Screenwriting; Film
Lillie Kroll, Budget Analyst/Accounting Specialist
Amber Larosa, Experience Design and Production
Andrea LeBlanc, Associate Dean; Co-Head of BFA Acting
Tanya Lee, Costume Shop Manager
Damian D. Lewis, Co-Head of BFA Acting; Voice/Speech
Rafael Lopez-Barrantes, Voice 
George Lugg, Producing; CNP Consulting Producer
Carlo Maghirang, Experience Design and Production
Babette Markus, Movement
Ellen McCartney, Director of Experience Design and Production
Charles McNulty, Dramaturgy
Anne Militello, Head of Lighting Design
Anthony Nikolchev, Movement
Rachel Park, Senior Admissions Counselor
Daniel Passer, Acting; Associate Director of Performance 
Elizabeth Pickens, Entrepreneurship
Jane Pickett, Writing for Performance
Vincent Richards, Experience Design and Production
Carl Hancock Rux, Writing for Performance
Victor Sandoval, Associate Costume Shop Manager
Rachel Scandling, Producing; CNP Producer
Heidi Scheller, Voice
Shannon Scrofano, Associate Director of Experience Design and Production
Evelyn Serrano, Theater History
Amanda Shank, Associate Dean; Theater History; CNP Associate Artistic Director
Bree Sherry, Stage Management
Kristin Showalter, Applied Arts 
Adam J. Smith, Director of Financial Aid; Performance Program Coordinator; Voice
Patrick Smith, Production Associate 
Toni Smith, Speech
Mark Sussman, Object Performance
Jeff Teeter, Experience Design and Production
Judith Teitelman, Entrepreneurship
Jeremiah Thies, Experience Design and Production
Rob Tokarz, Applied Arts 
Paul Turbiak, Communications Manager/Executive Assistant to the Dean; CNP Communications Liaison
Kalean Ung, Voice
Bernie Van De Yacht, Voice-Over
Kathleen Wilhoite, Acting
Terry Wolverton, Entrepreneurship
Chi-wang Yang, Acting; CNP Associate Artistic Director
Aycil Yeltan, Acting